*Photo Credit: DC Comics

My 8 year old daughter and I are fans of the new DC Comic’s Super Hero girls line recently released featuring Supergirl, Wonder Woman, Harley Quinn and a few others. I bought her the Wonder Woman doll because that’s who she dressed as for Halloween this year.

Then I ordered a few of the Super Hero Girls’ graphic novel style books from Amazon.com. As we were looking at pictures of the girls online, my daughter asked a great question:

“Why does it look like this is all about Supergirl? She’s always in the front of the pictures.”*(In the picture above, Supergirl is literally elevated above the rest).

I have never been one to sugar coat things for my kids. I replied, “Because sadly, in this country, the media likes to portray white girls with blonde hair as the best. And everyone else is just a sidekick.”

She sucked her teeth in disgust and I agreed. Then she said, “We already have a Justice League with Superman in the front, can’t they do something different with the girls?”

Bingo!

My eight year old just identified an intersectional micro-aggression. Not only does she feel culturally underrepresented in the line up of Super Hero girls, she also points out the sexism in that the DC Super Hero girls are mostly just copies of already established male superheroes. Further marginalizing her concept of a woman of color’s position in our society. These messages are deeply embedded in media, and we have to actively work to frame and dispel them for our children.

I see what DC Super Hero girls is trying to do. But I’m not letting anyone slide. They have their token Asian and Black girls, and they want us to be happy with being lesser known sidekicks. We are not.

I encourage people to write these companies and let them know how important representation is to our children.

You can write them at the link below, and get your voice heard!

http://www.dcentertainment.com/#contact

img_3004
My 8 year old on Halloween 2016 (Photo Credit: Nicole Summer)
